Miss Monica's Blog

A conscientous, vegetarian, and ecological blog about being green.

Fall into Water! March 4, 2011

Filed under: Water — missmonicapeniche @ 10:06 am

Hey everyone! I wanted to share this short video of me. I recently was lucky enough to visit Yelapa, a small beach/jungle city near Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. Some friends and I went on an excursion deep into the jungle to see this amazing lagoon and waterfall. The reason I wanted to share this with you is this: I want you to think a bit more about our water supplies. Even though we had to trek into the jungle for about 45 minutes to get to this place, I discovered a black plastic tube stemming from it. Much to my surprise, this lagoon was the water source for a small shack close to the beach. People run their own water lines from whatever natural source they can find, so they can have running water. We’re lucky, we don’t have to do that; we have the city do it for us. However, this doesn’t mean that our water doesn’t come from a natural source like this one. Think that every minute you’re wasting water, you’re decreasing someone’s chances to get to do something as fun as this:

(Psst…if you listen closely, you can hear our guide telling me that I can probably go around and not have to jump…it took about 25 minutes for me to muster up the courage to jump in!)

My friends and I before I jumped...one friend is still climbing the rope!

 

Leave a Reply

